Archive Series No. 8



This week we take a look at the 1954 Football Champions, O’Hanrahan’s.

O’Hanrahan’s 2-6, Tinryland 1-3 was the score on the day and it was O’Hanrahan’s 10th Title. Thanks to Carlow County Library we were able to get our hands on the preview to the game and the match report from the final as printed in The Nationalist and Leinster Times from September 1954


The preview describes the many surprises that the championship had thrown up to date with reigning champions Ballymurphy eliminated in the first round. It also tells us that O’Hanrahan’s had scored 9-24 on their way to the final. Tinryland beat Clonmore and Leighlin on their way to the final.




The actual match report from the September 25th edition of the newspaper offers up some interesting points. The paper describes the attendance as being a “small crowd”. There was 2820 at the final whereas the 1953 final had 4158 spectators and the the 1952 final drew the record crowd of 5446 which was then broken by the replay with 5920.

The report describes the match as being as good as over after ten minutes as that’s how dominant the O’Hanrahan’s men were and also how  “Jimma Rea gave an abject lesson in craft and tactics”. The paper says that Captain Paddy Carpenter “played his captain’s role to perfection. He lent a hand around midfield; dropped back to defence to urge his men to better things, and was architect of many of the scores”.

The O’Hanrahan’s team was : J.J. Moore, L. Rice, M. Doogue, J.Cullen, M. Whelan, P. Condron, W. Byrne, D. Hyland, E. Doogue, P. Carpenter, L. Quigley, J. Rea, J. Moore, E. Long, M. McDarby Sub: B McDermott for J. Cullen

The Tinryland team was: P. Regan, J.Doyle, A. Murphy, P. Delaney, D. Sullivan, P. Sullivan, A. Farrell, S. Delaney, A. Carroll, B Hayden, M Whelan, P. Darcy, P Murphy, P Heffernan, L Delaney Subs: J. Deane for D Sullivan, M McGrath for S Delaney


Print Friendly, PDF & Email